Three in three out


As Mossley prepare for the start of the 2008/09 season, manager Chris WIllcock has released three members of the pre season squad. Defender Darren Vernon, versatile Lee Duckworth and young striker Brian Matthews will not figure in the Lilywhites new look squad.

Willcock has however signed three players this week. Central defender Kristian Bowden (19) and striker Ben Wharton (18) have signed from Rochdale where both were on the fringes of first team activity last season. Wharton was Rochdale Reserves leading scorer with 25 goals. Also arriving is former Trafford right wing back Rob Parsonage (20) who was with Woodley Sports last season.

The Lilywhites will be without talented wing back Daryl Weston for the opening three games due to suspension following a harsh sending off at Ossett Albion back in April.

The Mossley squad for tomorrow's opening game at Clitheroe will be selected from:- Goalkeepers Liam Higginbotham, Jamie Mottershead.
Defenders: Simon Wood, Rob Parsonage, Leon Henry, Matty Kemp, Graham Kay, Nick Boothby, Nick Challinor, Kristian Bowden.
Midfield: Phil Charnock, Dave Prout, Arron Kirk, Gareth Chew.
Forwards: Lee Blackshaw, Dave Hanlon, Danny Dignan, Mike Fish, Danny Egan, Ben Wharton, Dave Brooke, Matt Haley.